Scholarships Available

Our Absent Members Memorial Scholarship






The Brewster Elks will be awarding a $1,000 grant to a graduating high school student that is a child or grandchild (step-child or step-grandchild) of a Brewster Elks #2101 Elk member in good standing. To be eligible, following graduation, the applicant must be enrolled in an accredited institution of higher education. This grant will be awarded to a student enrolled in Bachelor or Associates Degree program, technical, vocational, or other certification awarding curriculums. The Elks Scholarship Committee will consider the applicant's school and community involvement, employment, school attendance, essay, high school transcript, and possibly a personal interview. Grade point average will not be used in the review and award of this scholarship. The winner will be notified by phone, letter or email. He or she will be invited to attend our ceremony on Flag Day. 

Students must complete and mail the application by April 15, 2020 to: 

Brewster Elks Lodge, P.O. Box 376, Brewster, NY 10509

For application information, email:

Legacy Awards



Legacy Awards are $4,000 scholarships for children and grandchildren of Elks members. The Foundation awarded a total of 300 awards in the 2020 contest.


The 2020 contest will open on 

September 1, 2019.

The deadline for applications is January 31, 2020 at 11:59 a.m. Central Time.


Most Valuable Student Scholarship


The Elks National Foundation will award 500 four-year scholarships to the highest-rated applicants in the 2020 competition. 

The 2020 Most Valuable Student scholarship contest is open to any high school senior who is a US Citizen. Applicants will be judged on scholarship, leadership, and financial need.

The 2020 MVS application will be available on this page starting August 15, 2019 The deadline for applications is November 5, 2019.

The Elks National Foundation will award 500 four-year scholarships to the highest-rated applicants in the 2020 competition.

  • Current high school seniors, or the equivalent, who are citizens of the United States are eligible to apply.
  • Applicants need not be related to a member of the Elks.
  • High school graduates are not eligible to apply.
  • Applicants must be citizens of the United States on the date their applications are signed; permanent legal resident status does not qualify.
  • Male and female students compete separately.

The 20 top finalists will participate in an all expenses paid Leadership Weekend in Chicago during which they’ll interview with the national judges. These 20 finalists will be vying for two first-place awards of $50,000; two second-place awards of $40,000; and two third-place awards of $30,000. The remaining 14 finalists will receive awards of $20,000. The 480 runners-up will receive fifth-place scholarships of $4,000.


Additional Scholarships Available

The Gunther & Lee Weigel Medical School Scholarship



The Elks National Foundation is pleased to offer an exclusive scholarship opportunity just for Elks scholars pursuing a medical degree or Osteopathic Medicine degree.

This Gunther & Lee Weigel Medical School Scholarships are $20,000 scholarships offered to Elks scholars (current or alum) entering their first year of medical school. The scholarship established through the generosity of the late Lee Weigel, widow of Gunther Weigel.

Lee lost her husband of 51 years in November 2009. Gunther was a longtime member of Miami, Fla., Elks Lodge No. 948. He was passionate about the Foundation’s scholarship programs. Lee established these scholarships to help Elks scholars pursue a career in medicine.

If you are planning to attend an accredited U.S. medical school to pursue a medical degree or Osteopathic Medicine degree, consider applying before you begin your first year of medical school. The application for the 2018 contest is now available by request from the ENF Scholarship office by emailing or calling 773/755-4732.

This year, six (6) $20,000 scholarships are offered exclusively to Elks scholars (current or alum)* entering their first year of medical school in 2018. Applications are due by May 15.

Read more about past recipients below. If you have questions, please email or call 773/755-4732.

*Please note, this award is only open to current and former scholarship recipients of the Elks National Foundation. Winners of local Lodge scholarships and State Elks Association scholarships are not eligible for this program. This program is not open to the general public.

Emergency Education Grants



Emergency Educational Grants provide undergraduate college financial assistance to children of deceased or totally disabled Elks in the form of renewable, one-year grants of up to $4,000. The grant is for educational assistance only and is not intended to cover the entire cost of a college education.

Grant amounts are based on the information submitted in the application and can range up to $4,000.

  • As long as a student meets all other eligibility requirement listed below, a student can apply for up to four Emergency Educational Grants in total during their undergraduate education.
  • The applicant cannot accept more than one ENF scholarship/grant in any one academic year.


The Elk parent or stepparent:

  • Must have been a member in good standing for at least one year at the time of his or her death.


  • Must have been a member in good standing for at least one year before he or she became totally disabled and must continue to be an Elk in good standing when application for assistance is made.
  • All circumstances surrounding the death or disability of the Elk parent or stepparent are subject to the review of the Elks National Foundation. The outcome of the review may effect grant approval.

The applicant must:

  • Demonstrate financial need.
  • Attend an accredited U.S. college or university as a full-time (12 semester hours) undergraduate student.
  • Be unmarried, under the age of 24 during the academic year in which they are applying.


  • Available upon request between May 1 and October 31 of the academic year for which assistance is desired.
  • Incomplete or late applications will not be considered.
  • To request an EEG application for you or someone you know, please email or call 773/755-4732.

Looking for other Elks scholarship options? Learn about Most Valuable Student Scholarships and Legacy Awards.

Questions? Email or call 773/755-4732.